MUSIC!! EXCITEMENT!! A STRIP CLUB….

9 Jan

…With NO STRIPPERS!!!!

That’s right… It’s almost time for my annual birthday blowout bash!!

I am super excited about all aspects of this year’s party. As many of you know, I work for months on this show every year, and this year I am super excited to be turning 25!!! (Let a girl dream, ok???)

The venue… I guess I could start with the Venue. The Ranch is located in Arlington, Texas, and you can click HERE for a map. This place has Cheap drinks, Cheap food, a great staff, and awesome bands!!! They are also being nice enough to let us take the place over for a night to throw a ridiculous party!!! You can see the other events they have going on here on facebook or here on reverbnation!

My friends… This year I am sharing this party with a few other people, which is also super exciting to me!!!  I can’t wait to share my favorite day of the year with some of my favorite people!!!

The Bands… I am always more excited about this part than any of it… As usual, I am bringing in several of my very favorite local DFW bands to make it a Rockin’ Party!!

Born & Raised is a Progressive Southern Metal Band out of Denton, and they are a super fun band!!! You can check them out on facebook here and on reverbnation here. I’m not going to lie, I was going to leave their little bio ending with that link and then maybe I went out and saw them play Saturday at the Maxima Distorzion awards at The Rail Club in Fort Worth, and now I have a little bit more to say. . . . These guys know how to take over a stage and demand attention from the crowd. Anyone who knows me will tell you that I VERY rarely stand at the stage for a band’s entire set, and Saturday I certainly did.  Plus they are LOTS of fun to party with. And they give good hugs. Keep your eyes open for some collaboration with Sawed Off Productions in Denton!

5 Billion and Counting is a hard rock band out of Dallas. These guys are always a great time, a great show, and a great party. They are charismatic, entertaining, and they have good taste in beer. You can check them out on facebook here.

One Seed is a hard alternative rock band out of DFW. These guys are insanely charismatic onstage, and it is very very rare to see a band that feeds off each other the way these guys do. Their music is interesting, and everyone I know has been able to relate to the lyrics in some way.  I am great friends with some of them all of the time and good friends with all of them some of the time. Make sure you catch their set and look for merch. They have some seriously awesome tees that were JUST made and they should also have copies of their second disc, Isolation, with them as well!! You can find them on facebook here and on reverbnation here.

Aristoscat is, well… Aristoscat. They don’t fall neat and tidy into a genre and the best way to describe them is the dapperly dressed love children of Scott Ian (Anthrax) and Desi Arnaz. I’m not kidding. You HAVE TO see these guys (and gal). Here’s a link to some music at reverbnation. And also, you can find them here on facebook. Many thanks, by the way, to frontman Joey for all his work on the flyer for the event. Rumor has it these folks have a lot of things in store for this year and we are excited to see what comes out of Burlesque Industries in 2012!

The Gruesome Twosome is, well, just that. Here’s what I had to say about them last year:

… and they are a JOY. I mean that in the most Rock ‘N Roll Bad Ass way possible. I don’t even have words for these guys, except that I love them. A lot. Let me see if I can find a video so that perhaps you, too, can share my crazed enthusiasm….

It’s all true and I still mean it. You can find them on facebook here, but they really don’t update it that often because they are too busy swigging whiskey and being totally badass. I can’t wait to see them. WOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The P-Town Skanks are considered Rockabilly. This means that they sound like Elvis but they sing about bitchin’ things like murder. Aside from having one of the greatest band names EVER, they also have a stand-up bass in the band. I dig them a lot, and these guys ALWAYS put on a great show. It doesn’t matter if it’s a full house or you and the bartender, it’s a consistently good time. In fact, the first time I saw them was last year at Hot Licks, the night before my birthday. I loved them so much immediately that I asked them to come back and play the next night for my birthday show. They  loved me back so much  were stupid enough to do it. That tells you right there how awesome they are. Check them out on facebook here. And buy merch from them. I have one of their shirts. And it, too, is awesome.

P.s… These guys will drink lots of whiskey with you also.

P.p.s… ALL the bands will drink whiskey with you. Except One Seed. Their singer turns into a Gremlin if you pour whiskey on him. They will all drink tequila also. BUY THEM SHOTS!!!!

HERE is a LINK for ALL the EVENT INFO!!!

Okay, ya’ll. There you have it. This year’s event. The lineup. The venue. The badassery. I can’t WAIT!!!

2 Responses to “MUSIC!! EXCITEMENT!! A STRIP CLUB….”

  1. Stephen Keith Page (Steve) January 9, 2012 at 1:59 pm #

    Dana and I have Laurie Brittain’s table… lol \m/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What’s Good About Good Friday??? « Never A Normal Day…. - April 4, 2012

    […] is one of my favorite local acts, and you can read what I said about them previously HERE and HERE. They are awesome, they are hilarious, and they wear suits and dresses. I believe I have […]

Leave a Reply

