Change!!

21 Sep

Just a few days ago, I had to make one of the most difficult facebook announcements ever….

We at Hot Licks are sad to announce that our last day of business will be October 1, 2011. It’s been a blast, but due to circumstances beyond our control, it’s time to close our doors. We want to give many thanks to all of the bands who have supported Hot Licks and helped us keep our doors open. Thank you, also, to every single fan and customer who has been there to support us. We will post details shortly for our last show, so make plans now, because we intend to throw one hell of a party!!!

It’s strange, because although the last couple of years have been a blur, there are so many moments I remember so vividly.

I have learned a lot…

I have gone from a hot-tempered crazy with no brain-to-mouth filter to someone who stops and thinks about the consequences before she makes a public statement.

I stopped calling into work eleventy times per month and instead have not missed a day of work in well over 18 months.

I have learned to stop thinking of myself first and to look at business needs, knowing that if I take care of business, it will eventually pay off.

The next couple of weeks are going to be very bittersweet for me. I am sad to have put so much of myself into something and see it end….

But in the spirit of my new(ish) outlook on things… I am happy.

I’ve had the opportunity to work for a great mentor and boss…

I did my best and as I have been told, “gave it hell!!”

I have learned a lot of things that many people in the industry take years to learn… And many skills that will be very useful to me in my future endeavors.

I couldn’t be more thankful that so many people have stepped up to offer their assistance with future employment opportunities and also with my little promotions company, Sawed Off Productions…

I have dear friends who stepped up and created logos for me.

Bands I have worked with in the past months are booking shows, friends and fellow promoters are going out with me to network (when they could be doing lots of other things instead), and other venues are giving me a chance.

I could not be more thankful for the people who are in my life right now, and I hope that each of them knows it.

…..Friends, you know who you are. I couldn’t make it through each day without the words of encouragement, support, and great ideas!!

Life is good, ya’ll.

It’s just a matter of how hard you are willing to work at it, and I am about to give it hell!!!!

One Response to “Change!!”

  1. Deanna Echols September 22, 2011 at 12:40 am #

    Bitersweet indeed…& i am so excited to see what the path of pink stepping stones holds!

Leave a Reply

