If You Can’t Say Anything Nice….

25 Jul

…Come sit by me.

Just kidding.

The rest of that should actually be “…KEEP YOUR MOUTH SHUT!!!”

In this day of great technology, with social networking and the interwebs making a huge impact in the way we all communicate and also adding a very PUBLIC factor to the things we say… Sometimes I think some of us just don’t stop and think about the way we are perceived by others.

In fact, I know some of us don’t, because once upon a time, I would make very public posts like this:

RACHAEL FISHER IS MEAN AND CRAZY AND STUPID AND I HAVE NEVER MET HER, BUT SHE IS EVIL!!

I would publish posts all over facebook and MySpace without even thinking about all the people who were seeing it. Of course, the people at whom the posts were aimed got the right idea, but I have no doubt that there were hundreds of other people in my life who had no idea who or what I was talking about and I just looked mean.

Also, as a side note, the person referenced above is crazy, but certainly neither stupid nor evil, but I certainly wouldn’t cross her. Had I not changed my hateful interweb ways, I never would have learned these things. Except for the not crossing her part. That’s a previous lesson.

I have calmed down. A lot.

And I have learned to keep my mouth shut. Sometimes.

Since I don’t act like that anymore, and most people actually DON’T, you may be wondering why I even brought it up.

See, part of my job is booking bands and also watching what is going on in the local music scene. Sometimes things happen and bands break up or someone gets sick and more than once I have had a situation where I was able to predict an issue with a booking before it happened because I pay attention to what’s going on.

Facebook is very, very useful for this.

Sometimes, however, I come across posts like this:

Hey Random Promoter, I just want to update you on last night at Some Bar In the Metroplex. This DEFINITELY is not an upcoming venue in DFW and is one of the smallest and worst venues ive played in my more than 15-year career. The soundman and system was a complete joke and the club is not even remotely equipped to handle ANY bands to come in there. We will not be playing there again. Not to mention there was NO promotion for this event until to last minute.

Of course, to protect the innocent and the guilty, I omitted names.

This was a wall post.

All of us, of course, are entitled to our individual opinions. Venues, of course, need feedback, be it good or bad.  There are some things, however, that should probably be sent in a message to the promoter and the venue.

What this person did, probably unintentionally, was make every promoter and booking agent in DFW stop and think twice before they book this band. No one wants to see their name put out there with a bunch of rude statements.

The main point of this whole long spiel, in case you haven’t got it yet, is that putting others down more often than not will make you look worse in the end.

This isn’t a plea to STOP making mean, derogatory statements out in the open for all to see, because then I would have fewer posts that I find entertaining. Also, oddly enough, posts like this have helped me know what not to do.

I’m now a lot more vague with my meanness.

3 Responses to “If You Can’t Say Anything Nice….”

  1. Rachael July 25, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    Bahahahaah!!! Love it! Everything always comes back around. Don’t ever forget that. 🙂

    • katiethegreatie August 6, 2011 at 10:37 am #

      BELIEVE ME!!!!! I learned that lesson… Too bad not everyone does.

  2. danagidner July 29, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    Good post!

Leave a Reply

