I’m an attention whore.

18 Feb

Why, yes… I AM aware of it.

I’m fully aware that my visible tattoos, pink hair chunks, and my loud-arse voice draw attention to me. I thoroughly enjoy being me, and I am fully capable of drawing attention to myself without the assistance of others…

I don’t feel the need to use what I do for a living to “make” me popular. I don’t feel the need to use other people’s resources to gain notoriety. I go to work, and I do my job; I try to do it well.  I make it a point to be fair to bands, to do the best I can when booking and promoting, and to be as fair as I can while I am behind the bar.

If I book your band or refer you to a promoter, booking, or manager for another club, it’s because I like your band, your band is a good business decision, and I want to do what I can from where I am to support local music.

It’s not going to make me famous, but it might get me a little notoriety locally.

It’s not going to make me rich, but it’s paying my bills.

I still have to work, but at least I thoroughly enjoy my job…. That’s how I see it.

The only part I do NOT thoroughly enjoy is the drama.

Why can’t we all get along and be friends, working together??

I had several conversations last night concerning the local music scene…

Yes.

Again.

Everyone hates everyone else and that’s just the way it’s going to be.

Just kidding.

In my humble little opinion, after a few princess shots and jager shakes (YUM!) and a lot of talking, it’s starting to look like there will be some great changes in store for local music.

HURRAY!!!!!!!

After talking with management and booking for some other clubs in the area,  some of us actually agree that it would be a GREAT THING if bands and clubs actually work together on booking… Avoiding overbooking and making the best decisions for everyone.

The way things currently work, we all do our booking and fill our calendars with little regard to what was going on elsewhere. It’s possible that a band can play 3 clubs within 15 minutes of each other in a two week span. This hurts the bands as well as the clubs, because when a band is playing that often, their draw is not going to be nearly what it would be if there was ONE show in the area every three weeks or so.

If all the clubs, promoters, booking agents, and bands work TOGETHER, bands will have higher draw, which means they will make more money. This also benefits the clubs and promoters.

Everyone wins!

Thoughts??? Anyone?

 

4 Responses to “I’m an attention whore.”

  1. Withheld February 18, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Isn’t that what I said before? lol

  2. katiethegreatie February 18, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    HA! That I’m an attention whore, or that this is how things should be done? Absolutely, my boss has been talking about wanting to see this happen for a year probably. Only just now, there has been action taken! 🙂

Leave a Reply

