Check, check….. Mic Check…..

2 Feb

So.. Speaking as someone who love love loves local music … and not someone who books and works in a live music venue….

**disclaimer**
My opinions do NOT reflect the opinions of any company I work with or for… Just sayin’…
I moved to Texas just almost 6 years ago, and almost immediately I made one friend…
And this one friend knew a band ( Rustic Dog?!?) and he took me to see this band.
I got a long-term boyfriend and in turn, friends for LIFE out of the visit…
That’s not the point, but thank you, ex-boyfriend, And thank you, Friends For Life…
I also caught the love for local bands and the local music scene…
Over the past 6 years or so I have seen a lot of changes in things….
I went from being the girl who had the money to go and do whatever she wished and to see the bands she wanted to see at will…
To the girl who actually had the opportunity to book ONE show for her birthday and caught the bug….
I distinctly remember just about a year ago, saying to a close friend…”I would LOVE to be able to do this for a living….”
And a year later, here I am.
I book bands… I promote shows… I am a bartender… i am a sidekick and manager…
I LOVE WHAT I DO!!!!
I’ve had people tell me I “couldn’t”…. I’ve had people blacklist ME…. I’ve lost friends…. I’ve stopped drinking as much….I’ve become far more in tune with who I am….. I have gone through a lot of other changes…. I quit a cubicle job that left me stifled… I’ve gotten tattoos and colored my hair pink….
In short,,,,
I HAVE FOUND MY CALLING!!!
**everyone cheer, please!**
It’s all sunshine and roses, yes??
NO.
There are bands who don’t show.
There are bands that cancel.
There are nights where things go wrong and no one knows why.
There are bands who no longer wish to have any affiliation with me.
There are individuals who wish to no longer have affiliation with me.
You know what??? That’s cool.
I still love the music I love.
I am still trying to work my schedule (seven days a week!!!) around bands I want to see… I am still doing everything i can to see local music MAKE IT…..
And now the ugly….
I see 40 bands a month on average cross our stage….
I love them all…
Do I see other bands come out to support??
Rarely.
Do I see a big Fort Worth following for any of them???
Rarely.
Do I still love to see creativity and great musicianship in performances?
YES!!!
I’m lucky…. But the rest of you make me a bit sad!
Where is the future of the DFW local music scene headed?????
…………?????
10 Responses to “Check, check….. Mic Check…..”

  1. Withheld February 2, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    I think the bars/venues book too many bands to play per night. A lot of places book 4 or 5 bands. That’s way too many especially for the short attention span that most of us have. Maybe limit it to 2 or 3 bands per night. This would also make it a little tougher to get bookings for the bands. You would see the overall talent of the bands rise. I’m not saying there are not tons of talented bands out there, but I would rather go see 2 or 3 kickass bands then 4 mediocre bands playing with 1 good band. This would also allow the bands to play a little longer or allow time for the “headliner” to play longer. Also the bands wouldn’t be rushing so much to get on and off stage. Nothing sucks more than rushing to get your stuff on stage, sound check run through your set and get back off in hour. You don’t get too really enjoy playing sometimes. We all know the prime time slots are between 9pm and 11pm. You could work the time to get those 2 or 3 bands around that time slot. Just my 2 cents.

  2. katiethegreatie February 2, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    Those are valid points… However, I am not sure I understand how any of that should have any effect on a show that a band has booked and already agreed to play??

    • Withheld February 2, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

      I’m not sure what you are asking. If you are asking about bands canceling? That happens I guess, unforeseen circumstances things of that nature. Maybe a more specific question would help. I’m not the smartest person so. lol

      • katiethegreatie February 2, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

        LOL… I completely understand about unforeseen circumstances. Things happen… it’s just like anything else in life. What I DON’T understand is why bands would book a show and then not have the courtesy to call, text, or email to cancel if need be. I also don’t understand why it’s so rare to see band members out to see and support other bands….

  3. Withheld February 3, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    If a band does not take the time to let you know they are missing a show, then that band is clearly unprofessional! What can I say some people are like that they just don’t give a shit. Now about the bands not coming to see other bands. That’s something I can’t figure out. I know everyone’s busy and it’s hard to make it out to shows. Maybe bands are playing too much? I know I see the same bands playing every weekend at a handful of different venues. I might be a fan but personally I’m not going to see them every weekend and listen to the same 6 to 10 songs. I wouldn’t do that for any band local or national. There’s some people that do, those I guess are your true fans. Most band members are probably not going to be a huge fan of any other local bands. But on that note when you are playing on the same bill, a lot of bands won’t even stick around to watch the other bands during the same night. As soon as their set is done they leave and take all their people with them. At least if you can’t get out to see other bands play at least stick around for a while and check out the other bands.

    • katiethegreatie February 3, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

      I agree wholeheartedly about the bands that play and leave!! There are a few that will stay around and watch the other bands, but there are many that play and leave. Staying and watching the other bands and also visiting with them can be a GREAT networking tool. I love seeing bands who have never played together get together after a show and build other shows. It’s a great tool for getting into other venues as well!
      I also agree with you about some bands playing the same few clubs too often. I love seeing bands play other places and any band who has talked with me about this knows that I personally think it’s great for the bands and the clubs when bands play everywhere. A band playing elsewhere will pick up new fans and bring them to other shows other places. I do think it’s best for any band to not play too often, and it’s rather sad, really, that there are promoters and club owners out there who encourage bands NOT to play certain places. That is detrimental to everyone involved.

      • Withheld February 3, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

        Let me ask this question. Can a band be in the local scene too long? I know most of us don’t have dreams of being the next rock star and are more of a what you would call a “hobbyist”. Are these type of bands flooding the scene? For example a band plays every weekend and only draws a handful of friends and family. They never really gain any new fans. I think, and this is just my own opinion. If your that type of band you might want to lay off the playing every weekend, unless you do the cover thing and you’re getting paid but that’s a whole other topic. lol So back to the question I asked. I would think that the local scene could only hold you for so long if you have a great band, eventually you make connections to play more regionally and gain fans in other cities. This would allow your fan base to grow and when you did play a hometown gig it would be more of an event. This is an over simplification of course but it does ask how long should a band pretty much just stagnate in the local scene? as far as club owners encouraging bands not to play certain venues, that sounds like more of political/manipulative sort of thing. I’m not sure how I would feel if that was ever brought up to me.

  4. katiethegreatie February 3, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    There are quite a few hobby bands out there… And I think that for ANYONE to play in an area too often is counterproductive. The scene becomes oversaturated, almost like with radio play. For the most part, the most successful local bands I have seen play maybe once a month in Dallas or Fort Worth and it’s easier to draw a crowd. Not everyone gets out every single weekend and it becomes easier to make a show into a social event.
    I know of one local band that plays Fort Worth every single week, and their draw has dropped significantly because people know that if they miss a show, there will always be another one.
    I think that a band could do well locally for a long period of time if the promoting is there and if they aren’t playing the same places too often.
    The local scene has become full of politics and drama, and that, too, is detrimental to all the bands trying to get out and play. Most of the musicians I know enjoy putting on a show no matter where they are playing and who is in attendance. I had a friend tell me just a few days ago that he doesn’t care if there is only one person listening to his set, he just enjoys playing.
    In my opinion, that is the way it should be. It should be fun… And egos, attitudes and personal feelings for others in the business should be set aside. Unfortunately, it isn’t like that anymore.

    • Withheld February 4, 2011 at 12:40 am #

      I totally agree about playing for the love of playing. But let’s be honest you also do this to try and reach people. Playing to one person who digs your music is great and you get that connection. If you really connected with that person you would hope they would tell a friend and etc. Also how many and how long will venues accommodate you if aren’t selling liquor? As much as it is entertainment it’s also a business. You have to think of your band as a business and a business needs customers.

  5. katiethegreatie February 8, 2011 at 12:45 am #

    EXACTLY!!!! You have it dead on.

Leave a Reply

