New Year…

5 Jan

I’ve been crazier and busier of late than I probably have been in my entire life… Please, allow me to give you the Cliff’s Notes Version of the past few weeks for me, then I swear I will get to the point of my post…

I drove to Denton for Christmas on a Sunday – back to Fort Worth – to Connerville, Oklahoma with Dad, stayed the night that Tuesday – Back to Fort Worth – Back to Connerville – On to Okemah, where I arrived early Christmas Eve… And where I got the BEST NEWS EVER!!!!! The BYOB establishment where I have been for a YEAR finally got a liquor license!! I did Christmas with the family, and was back in Fort Worth, ready to get to work on Monday…

*whew*

It was the best Christmas and New Year present wrapped up all in one… and I am convinced that 2011 is my year.

While most everyone I know was slobbering kissing on someone at midnight leading into this great new year…. I was making a drink. . . . My signature Pink Princess Katie Shot (or slayer shot) at that.

It wasn’t on purpose, but I couldn’t think of a better way to ring in a New Year…

I was sober. I was working. The people around me were all having a GREAT time!!!!

Things have, like I said, been crazy. There are times, like today, when I was cleaning out the desk in the office at work, when I have time to reflect on where I’ve been and where I’m going.

2010 was a bittersweet year for me, and although I firmly believe I have found EXACTLY what I was meant to do in life and I thoroughly enjoy what I do… Getting here wasn’t easy.

In the past year, I waged war with people I had no reason to attack…But I learned from it.

I cut a lot of people out of my life who were unhealthy… I’m not saying any of them were bad people, we just weren’t healthy for each other and I wish nothing but the absolute best for those with whom I cut ties.

I’ve sobered up quite a bit… I’ve stopped drinking gallons of whiskey and wrecking cars… and that was quite a feat.

I’m learning to do things the RIGHT way, and not necessarily the way things have always been done or the easiest. I feel a lot better about that.

Yeah.

And I’m learning to throw a party without wanting to stab anyone in the face…. Which reminds me…

I’ll be turning 21 (plus ten!) on January 14th of this fantastical year, and, as usual, am throwing myself one heck of a party on January 15th at Hot Licks Barbecue Saloon… Why yes, there will be bands! Why, of course, it will be fun! Why, ABSOLUTELY, I want to see your face!!

Come out, have a couple of drinks, and let’s make it a fun one.

Leave a Reply

