Cleaning House…

19 Oct

For the past several months, my life has been pretty chaotic, and at best, messy. I will spare the details. Those who know me well know that I’ve gone through all kinds of crazy changes and dealt with more than a little drama in the recent past.

I’m one of those people who tends to allow her surroundings to match how she happens to be feeling at the moment. This is generally a bad thing, because until just a little while ago, my bedroom looked like this:

There were things in that pile I forgot I had... Like my favorite pj pants!

I tend to save things that have become less than desirable in the event that I MIGHT be able to use them again.

I am the world’s worst about saving individual earrings. I only wear cheap jewelry, mostly because I don’t have a fabulous boyfriend to buy me the good stuff. And I’m poor. Plus, I am really really good at losing just ONE earring out of a pair, leaving me with one earring that that instantly becomes worthless.

Part of my giant cleanup effort today included going through earrings,necklaces, bracelets, and hair accessories. I went through my basket of earrings, pairing up the few that matched and managing to match up some that I found in random places throughout the house. I’m pretty proud of my newly recovered earring collection. See???

Not too shabby, eh???

The rest….

I THREW AWAY.

That’s a pretty big deal for me. I like to save things just in case I need them again. Or on the off-chance that someone happens to call me and ask to borrow a single giant hot pink star-shaped earring. If you happen to be seeking that particular item, by the way, you will now have to dig through my trash, which I do NOT recommend.

In an effort to stop any tendencies of being a hoarder, I threw a lot of other things away, too. I’m very proud of what I accomplished today.

While I was cleaning and managing to force myself to step away from facebook, myspace, email, and my phone, I had some time to think about a lot of things and I remembered a quote I had seen on the Metal Motivators’ facebook.

“Revisiting the past cannot help you conquer the future. Bury the dead and move on.” ~ The Metal Motivators

Brilliant, yes? (be sure and go “like” them on facebook by clicking the link above!) I think this applies to more than just errant earrings and messy rooms bordering on hoarding. It applies to people, too. And as much as it seems like it sucks, sometimes the best thing for a person is to leave some people and some things in the past and just move forward.

Just a few years ago, I had some friends who were not comfortable with the self-destructive lifestyle I was living. At the time, I thought they were being mean and hateful and that they were out to get me. Now that I have landed myself in a situation similar to what theirs was back then, I completely understand- they had to bury their dead in order to move forward in their lives…. Much like I am doing now.

The good news is… I’m happier, and I am drinking a LOT less. I’m spending less time fighting hangovers and spending MORE time doing the things I really do enjoy. I’m not worrying about how to make sure everyone knows how cool I am… I’m making sure I am accomplishing REALLY cool things instead.

PLUS… My room and my life look a lot more like this now:

Yay Me!!!

Pretty cool, huh?

Tomorrow, I take on the bathroom. Who knows what kind of brilliance that will bring out in me.

Check back for The Potty Cleaning Chronicles!!

Added Bonus... Here's Pinkie helping me.

Leave a Reply

