oogie boogie

17 Oct

I love autumn. I love hoodie weather. I love football and hockey. I love the way the air smells at this time of year.

I also LOVE LOVE LOVE Halloween.

And spooky stuff.

For some weird reason, I am one of those people who LOVES to be scared. I’m not much for gore. Creepy, spooky, psychological fear- that’s more up my alley.

Growing up The Middle of Nowhere, Oklahoma, we had to be pretty creative with our entertainment. In the fall, and also around a full moon, one of the things some of us did was visit a place called “Flamesville.” There were ALL KINDS of great stories about what went on in this little community… Is it a cult community? Is it just a small church with a few trailers around it? Is it a meth operation guarded by crazed meth addicts?  I still don’t know the details, but all the stories were VERY scary, and generally involved “THEM” chasing people away with guns and pitchforks in ‘their’ big trucks.

I’ve been there once or twice, and no one ever chased us… Well, once we were pulled over by county deputies because I did may or may not have accidentally flicked a lit cigarette onto the windshield of a patrol car. Yeah. Woo.

The highlight of any trip out there was the rock sign that ‘greets’ visitors/vandals/nosy kids. I looked all over the interwebs for a picture of said rock, and was not able to find a single one, but I used my mad art skills to create something similar to give an idea…

 

This is my artistic rendition of the Flamesville Rock.

 

Lovely, isn’t it? Thank you, Brandon, for emailing and asking about Flamesville, I hadn’t thought about that place in a long time!! Sister, you and I need to make a trip there the next time we are in Okemah at the same time!!

Does anyone else have a Flamesville story? Hopefully more exciting than mine???

3 Responses to “oogie boogie”

  1. Rachael Fisher October 17, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    Their is a tombstone in Azle that glows. I never believed it until I saw for myself! Spooky!

  2. john hicks June 22, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    I know of a couple of stories about this story katie. we got chased out of there one time, it was fun and scary at the same time.

    • katiethegreatie August 9, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

      I know!!! I have been chased out of there too!! I need someone to go back and get a photo of that rock!

Leave a Reply

