words.

11 Oct

I use them a lot.

I talk a lot. I text a lot. I IM, I email, I blog, I post, and once in a while I even sing.

Actually, with technology advancing like it has in the past several years, most of us probably communicate more and better (for the most part) than we ever did before.

***disclaimer*** I do not claim to be an expert on the English language. I do not have a degree. I am, for the most part, a pretty normal person.**end disclaimer**

That being said, what the hell has happened to words?

There are a few things that make me crazy, so I will go ahead a make a list.

Abbreviations in text messages amuse me.

Often, when I receive a text from my roommate that reads, “IDK, Katie! WTF do you think?!…” I am reminded of the old cell phone commercial where the old lady says, “OMG! It’s my BFF Rose!!” I usually imagine him speaking in that voice and that makes it even better. I won’t lie. I use the occasional LOL or OMG but I generally spell things out.

Please utilize vowels.

It seems there are people out there who don’t realize that facebook status updates are nothing like classified ad space. You do NOT have to pay by the letter. Go ahead and splurge on a vowel once in a while, please. I hate trying to decipher posts that read, “hd fn. wnt 2 wlmrt.” WalMart will gladly sell you an entire set of vowels in a package of refrigerator magnets for approximately 87 cents. Check it out.

Poor spelling does not make you cool.

This is the infraction that actually prompted this post. I understand that there are a LOT of people who are about as good at spelling as I am at algebra. I will not even pretend to have a clue as to how algebra works. I can, however, do basic math, and when I am performing basic math functions, especially if someone else will see my work, I count and recount. I add and re-add. I double check. When it comes to writing something publicly, it’s not difficult to use spell check.

 

 

The offending article.

 

Wow. Just Sayin’.

And I know I come across as snitty and bossy.

Get off my lawn.

I forgot something. Because this is my blog and I get to make the rules, there is one exception to terrible writing, and this is LOLCats. I love them. A lot.

Leave a Reply

