What Not To Name Your Band…

25 Jul

I had a conversation on the way home from work tonight with two of my favorite people concerning band names.

I’m not going to lie. Unless I really really know you or I really really know your band, there is a very very good chance that I do not remember the name of your band unless it is really really original. Or funny.

If you want my opinion and you are naming a new band (and you probably don’t, but I am going to tell you anyway), Please avoid using the following words in your band name:

Hate

South/Southern

Death

Destruction

Die

Morbid

Fallen

Stab

Wound

Devil

Demon

Goat

Fallen

I think that’s it… Not that a great band name wouldn’t be Fallen Goat Stab Wound Southern Demon Destruction….

It’s just that I might accidentally call you Northern Flying Elephant People.

Of course, it’s also possible that I might get too animated and call you Money for Meanies, too.

I kid. Kinda.

Really, though, I like originality.

I also regularly change the words to metal songs from things like….

DEATH. DIE. DESTRUCTION. EVIL. BURNING. DEATH. DEATH. DEATH. DIE.

to….

RAINBOWS. PONIES. UNICORNS. PUPPIES. GLITTER. PINKIE SPARKLESHINE.

When this happens I usually have to remove myself from the pit/band/stage area because I have amused myself to the point of ridiculous laughter and that is never acceptable during things like death, dying, and stabbing.

Maybe there’s something wrong with me…..

Leave a Reply

