what i do…

29 Jun

… it might not be quite what you think.

Those of you who are also bartenders or work in bars or drink a lot may already know where some of this is going….

For the rest of you, it’s probably not all it’s cracked up to be.

Disclaimer: I truly love what I do. I’m learning lots about an interesting line of work.  I love the people I work for and in general, I have a BLAST at work…

Many of the people I know think I party all the time. To be fair, I do, indeed, tend to have a lot more fun that the average bear. I get to see a lot of bands, I get to be a large part of others’ social lives, and I get to be a pretty big part sometimes in making sure others have lots of fun when they are out…

The things you may not think about (MOM, who says life is NOT a big party, and Sister, who says it’s not fair that going to work means that I get to go hang out with my friends in a bar) are who cleans up the mess when someone decides to throw up everywhere, and who has to pick up the lady who fell off her barstool, and the fact that I get to lug my fluffy arse around on foot for sometimes 11 hours straight. I could go on, but I won’t…

I do get to hear LOTS of good jokes, though. And it’s awesome to be a part of some pretty awesome days for people. . . And I get a kick out of laughing at someone else’s hangover once in a while…Getting to play Dr. Phil and dispensing advice, well, at least it allows me to realize I don’t have it so bad after all. . . . It also consistently reminds me why I rarely date.

Hmm…. Maybe it IS all it’s cracked up to be.

I’m a lucky girl.

One Response to “what i do…”

  1. Sister June 29, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    It’s NOT fair that your job is hanging out with your friends at a bar!! Annie and I were impressed with how clean the “Martha” aka bathroom was at Sam’s Trouble. Good job!

Leave a Reply

